skip to content

Department of Physiology, Development and Neuroscience


Home | About Us | Board | Meetings


Abstract submission deadline: 3rd July 2023

Early bird registration closing date (limited availability): 1st June 2023


Registration closing date: 16th August 2023

FULL BROCHURE .pdf download

We encourage submissions from researchers of any discipline and level of their career, covering any aspect of pregnancy, fetal and neonatal physiology and development. There will also be several prizes available for students and early career researchers.

Accommodation: FNPS has secured special rates at the Crowne Plaza Hotel. We recommend you book your accommodation as soon as possible as it is a busy time of year in Queenstown. Please complete this booking form and email it to Crowne Plaza Hotel


Prizes and Awards

At every meeting, the following prizes are awarded:

Two FNPS prizes for PhD students, for best oral and best poster presentation. These will be funded from the conference budget. I  previous years, these wards have ranged from $US100 to 1000.

The Tania Gunn prize administered by Professors Laura Bennet and Alistair Gunn funds two prizes at $US 500 each: one prize for student oral communication and one prize for post-doctoral fellow oral communication (36months from graduation as PhD or MD).

The Bo Gennser poster prize for a PhD student.  Professor Jan Nijhuis administers this fund.


Organising committee

Professor Laura Bennet

Professor Alistair Gunn

Associate Professor Joanne Davidson

Associate Professor Justin Dean

Dr Christopher Lear

Dr Guido Wassink

Dr Simerdeep Dhillon

Dr Kelly Zhou


Abstract books

Sidebar items

Previous Meetings

Previous meetings of the Fetal and Neonatal physiological Society:

 2022 Sweden

 2021 New Zealand, Queenstown
 2020 Erice, Italy          
 2019 Marysville, Australia
 2018 Kerkrade, the Netherlands
 2017 Osaka, Japan
 2016 Cambridge, UK
 2015 Vancouver, Canada
 2014 St Vincent, Italy
 2013 Puerto Varas, Chile
 2012 Utrecht, The Netherlands
 2011 Palm Cove, Australia
 2010 Winchester, UK
 2009 Lake Arrowhead, USA
 2008 Maastricht, The Netherlands
 2007 Sendai, Japan
 2006 Cambridge, UK
 2005 South Australia
 2004 Tuscany, Italy
 2003 Banff, Canada
 2002 Prague, Czech Republic
 2001 Auckland, New Zealand
 2000 Southampton, UK
 1999 Vlieland, The Netherlands
 1998 Lake Arrowhead, USA
 1997 S. Margherita Ligure, Italy
 1996 Arica, Chile
 1995 Malmö, Sweden
 1994 Palm Cove, Australia
 1993 Plymouth, United Kingdom
 1992 Niagara on the lake, Canada
 1991 De Eemhof, The Netherlands
 1990 Pacific Grove, USA
 1989 Reading, United Kingdom
 1988 Cairns, Australia
 1987 Groningen, The Netherlands
 1986 Banff, Canada
 1985 Haifa, Israel
 1984 Oxford, United kingdom
 1983 Malmö, Sweden
 1982 London, United kingdom
 1981 Maastricht, The Netherlands
 1980 Oxford, United kingdom
 1979 Paris, France
 1978 Nijmegen, The Netherlands
 1977 Oxford, United kingdom
 1976 Malmö, Sweden
 1975 Oxford, United kingdom
 1974 Oxford, United kingdom