skip to content

Department of Physiology, Development and Neuroscience


Professor Christine Holt has been awarded the membership by the Physiological Society’s Board of Trustees. Honorary membership is the highest honour that The Physiological Society presents to an individual and it recognises persons of distinction in science who have contributed to the advancement of physiology. The other recent inductees include:

  • Professor Dame Kay Davies CBE DBE FMedSci FRS, University of Oxford, UK
  • Professor Maria Fitzgerald FMedSci FRS, University College London, UK
  • Professor Carla J. Shatz Ph.D. ForMemRS, Stanford University, California, US
  • Professor Fiona Watt FRS FMedSci, King’s College London, UK
  • Professor Melanie Welham FRSB, Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC)
  • Rt Hon. Lord David Willetts FRS, Resolution Foundation

Their appointment will be celebrated at the Member Forum at The Royal Society on 19 November 2021.

Professor Christine Holt received a BSc Honourss degree in Biological Sciences from the University of Sussex in 1977 and was awarded a PhD degree in Zoology from King’s College, London University in 1982. She did her postdoctoral training in the Physiology Department at Oxford University where she was also a Junior Research Fellow at Worcester College, and in the Biology Department at the University of California San Diego (UCSD). In 1992, she joined the faculty at UCSD and became a tenured Associate Professor in 1996. In 1997, she moved to the University of Cambridge as a Lecturer in the Anatomy Department and a Fellow of Gonville and Caius College. In 2003 she became the Professor of Developmental Neuroscience in the Department of Physiology, Development and Neuroscience. She was a Pew Scholar and a McKnight Scholar in her early career and has been the recipient of numerous grant awards from the NIH, MRC, HFSP and Wellcome Trust and ERC Advanced Grant. She serves on several Scientific Advisory Boards, Editorial Boards and Selection Committees. She was awarded the Remedios Caro Almela Prize for Research in Developmental Neurobiology (2011), the Champalimaud Vision Award (2016), Mabel Fitzgerald Prize Medal (2016) and the Royal Society Ferrier Medal (2017). She was elected Member of EMBO (2006), Fellow of the Medical Academy of Sciences (2007), Fellow of The Royal Society (2009), Fellow of the Royal Society of Biology (2011) and International Member of the National Academy of Sciences, US (2020).